Changing Privacy Settings in YouTube
Do not post any videos on YouTube that may contain Personally Identifiable Information (PII) of students or staff. Examples of PII include names, contact information, and photos. Videos that have PII should be posted on Google Drive and not shared with anyone outside the district.
When you upload a video to YouTube you can set the video to Public, Unlisted, or Private. Public will list the video on YouTube while Unlisted while make it hidden. USD 497 Technology recommends using the Unlisted setting for most videos.
Unlisted videos are hidden from the public. Only the people yo share the link to the video with can see it. Unlisted videos can also be posted on Google Classroom and Unified Classroom.
|Can share URL||No||Yes||Yes|
|Can be added to a channel section||No||Yes||Yes|
|Shows up in search, related videos, and recommendations||No||No||Yes|
|Posted on your channel||No||No||Yes|
|Shows in Subscriber feed||No||No||Yes|
|Can be commented on||No||Yes||Yes|
Change video privacy settings
- Sign in to YouTube Studio.
- From the left menu, select Videos.
- Hover over the video you’d like to update. To see your live uploads, select the Live tab.
- Click the down arrow under “Visibility” and choose Public, Private, or Unlisted.
About privacy settings
Public videos can be seen by anyone at YouTube. They can also be shared with anyone using YouTube. They’re posted on your channel when you upload them and show up in search results and related video lists.
Private videos and playlists can only be seen by you and the people you choose. Your private videos won’t appear to others who visit the “Videos” tab of your channel page. They also won’t show up in YouTube’s search results.
To share a private video:
- Go to your Video Manager in Creator Studio Classic.
- Find the video you want to share, then select Edit.
- Beneath the “Privacy Settings” drop-down menu, select Share.
- Enter the email addresses of people you’d like to share your video with, then select OK.
Comments are not available on private videos. If you want to allow comments on a video that’s not publicly available, change the privacy setting to unlisted.
Unlisted videos and playlists can be seen and shared by anyone with the link. Your unlisted videos won’t appear to others who visit the “Videos” tab of your channel page. They won’t show up in YouTube’s search results unless someone adds your unlisted video to a public playlist.
You can share an unlisted video’s URL with other people. The people you share the video with don’t need a Google Account to see the video. Anyone with the link can also re-share it.
Was this helpful?YesNo